Same Shit, Different Year

Cheerful, no?

Well it’s true. A close friend of mine explained it in a bit of a rant.

“The idea that with the simple turn of a clock, all of the problems from the day/month/year before will suddenly disappear and you are entitled to a pseudo-divine clean slate perplexes me. Your problems are still your problems, and they will only get better when you address them, regardless of when you do it. A positive attitude despite your challenges is a good place to start.”

True enough. It is a new year, but guess what, those cell phone contracts you’re in a still valid. As well as your mortgage, car payments, insurance, debts, relationship problems, anxieties, insecurities, etc. As far as personal growth goes, you should always have goals for yourself. You’re going to continue to grow, so why not? Of course, change definitely does not happen overnight, so it can be easier to lay out goals in the form of a New Years’ Resolution. And looking back on an entire, if you’re honest with yourself, can really give you a general overview of things. A lot of stuff can happen in twelve months. Circumstances change, karma kicks in, your luck is up, your luck is down.

So here is mine:
I will stop explaining myself. Which is funny in this aspect because I am explaining it right now. But in my everyday life, I will cease to do it. There are times when I do things, say something, act a certain way…and not everyone understands it. That’s fine. They might ask ‘why?’ and that’s fine, too. What is not fine, however, is when someone constantly tells me they don’t understand me and just as constantly wants me to walk them through my entire thought process. Eventually it gets to the point where I need to just walk away or do something so drastic that said person can grow the balls to walk away themselves.

I did not come with an instruction manual and you don’t get an answer key. I’m not going to change just because someone says I should. If I see I need to change something about myself, that’s when change will happen. If someone doesn’t fit your expectations of an ‘ideal person,’ then you just need to leave them alone. Stop telling them how imperfect they are in your eyes. Talk about rude.

There are the few that are in my life because I am the way I am. They are in my life because they want to be. They are in my life because they love me just the way I am. Those elite few don’t need explanations for why I do what I do, why I say what a say. So I’m not going to waste breath. The ones that try to come into my life, are going to have to get on board with that.

On another New Year note, it is the year of the snake! My year. Oooh Shaye for the win! I looked a bit up about those born during the year of the snake and here’s what I found about general traits.
Positive: The snake can be amiable, compromising, fun-loving, altruistic, honorable, sympathetic, philosophical, charitable, a paragon of fashion, intuitive, discreet, diplomatic, amusing, and sexy.
Pretty good, no? I definitely don’t agree with ALL of those in relation to myself, but then again I could just be a harsher critic on myself than others might be on me.

And the negative: The snake can also be self-righteous, imperious, judgmental, conniving, mendacious, grabby, clinging, pessimistic, fickle, haughty, ostentatious, and a very sore loser.
You know…just because these were slapped with the negative label by someone else, does not mean they are in fact negative. Take out the last bit about being a sore loser and you just have someone that’s a bitch. Even with the last bit, just a bitch. Of course if you overdo it, then yes, being a bitch can be a nuisance. But I’m a nice bitch. Promise.

I guess I, along with many others, am hoping this year will be significantly better than last year. No shame in that. But it’s only going to happen if I make it happen.

So in native traditional celebratory language, CHEERS! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Leave a Reply

