Bias Against Straight People

Yup. Not the biggest fan of them. It’s difficult to avoid them, but I try. Oh how I try.

But before you get your boxer briefs in a bunch, please know this: I am related to straight people. I even have a few straight friends.

It’s nothing super personal against the straight population. I just prefer to be surrounded by gays. And lesbians. And bisexuals. And transsexuals. And drag queens. And metrosexuals. And those that are curious about all of it.

Most of my close friends from childhood to high school were not straight and I liked it that way. Still do.

It’s funny that a Sociology assignment opened my eyes to the fact that I gravitate towards the LGBT community. We had to take a test that was hosted on the Harvard website (not sure if it’s still on there, I haven’t bothered to look for it) and my result was that I was biased against heterosexuals. How someone decided to put that as a possible outcome is beyond me, but hooray for them. They described me.

I’m not entirely sure what it is. I’m just not on the same wavelength as the general straight population. Or they’re not on my wavelength. Whatever. Either way, I am so much more comfortable around non-straight folk. Maybe it’s a vibe thing.

Who knows. Who cares.

Straight people are just not my cup of tea. If they were tea, I wouldn’t drink them.

Ain’t no shame in my game.

 

BiasPride

Leave a Reply

